Good afternoon, I’ve been catching up on errands and I’ve learned a few things. The first is strictly male, if you can give prcise directions to a place the odds are real good that even if it’s an image burned into your brain and you’ve been there at least five times, you’re gonna drive right past it and have to drive another five miles to make a legal turn and head back. Yep, I did it. The male is wired to know where stuff is. It’s too bad we have a Ferrari storage facility with a bicycle retrieval system. Once inside I got what I needed.  The guy who took care of me must’ve been psychic because I needed two DSL filters and he gave me two. I didn’t specify how many. It could’ve been that weird male gene that knows when a fellow male is trying to do some repairs or replacement he’s gonna screw it up, so give him back-up to cover his ass. My second stop was at the hair cutting salon. I didn’t get the Asian stylist, she was quick and chatted while she took three inches off my hair. I went back with hopes of letting her remedy my mistake. Felicia did the job. I got a “gentlemen’s cut” which means that I look less like the friendly neighborhood middle-aged guy stuck in the Sixties and more like a serial killer. Don’t get me wrong, I like the style. It’s just haircuts rank low on my list of priorities. The last time they ranked high up, I wore a uniform and said “Yes sir” a lot. My hair still gets in my eyes but now I don’t have to douse it in conditioner every time I wash it. That’s a viscsious circle. You wash your hair, codition it and the next day you repeat. I’ve never been a fan of hair applications stemming from two unfortunate incidents, one with a substance called Joker and another with an overdose of Brylcreme and a new white shirt.

Got my Nook loaded. The folks at Barnes and Noble walke me through it after many attempts on my part to follow the instructions on-line. I loaded some Phillip Jose Farmer and some istorical fiction. Uploaded The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I know the book borders on literature but I’ll give it a shot. I like potboiler, pulp fiction. I’m not a snob. I’ve read Moby Dick, twice and still think it’s a ripping sea tale with a lot of stuff about whaling and whales. All the stuff about obsession and searching was invented by lit professors to give them an unending subject to write papers about. I love the caricatures of the authors they have as screen savers. Father Kurt looked a little too benign.

Channel surfing I came across Geronimo on one of the movie channels. One look at Chuck Connors, remember The Rifleman, playing the title role and I was ready to watch the 700 Club marathon on the neighboring channel. I found a Sherlock Holmes pastiche instead.

Music stuck in my head: A car company advertises it’s summer sale with a cover from Grease. I’ve got Sandy and what’s his name bouncing around until snippets of A Touch of Gray kick in.

Have an interesting day.

IF YOU SEE A LAME PRODUCT BEING SHILLED ON TV, PLEASE TELL ME. SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL FOOD BANK. ADOPT A SHELTER PET. SPAY OR NEUTER YOUR LOCAL POLITICIAN. WE’VE GOT ABOUT 100 DAYS UNTIL ROMNEY RULE OR MORE OF THE SAME. LOOK INTO THIRD AND FOURTH PARTIES, THEY’VE GOT SOME IDEAS THAT NEED TO BE BRUGHTH INTO THE MAINSTREAM. FAR RIGHT CONSERVATIVES AND FAR LEFT LIBERALS AREN’T EVIL, JUST MISINFORMED. TELL YOUR LOCAL SENATOR AND REPRESENTATIVE WE NEED GUN CONTROL. IT’S NOT AN ALL OR NOTHING PROPOSITION. IF WE TALK TO THE PEOPLE WE ELECTED THE SECOND AMENDMENT WILL BE SAFE AND COLORADO AND WISCONSIN WON’T HAPPEN AGAIN.

See you on Friday.