Last  Wednesday while cruising the net, doing some research for a story that’s been brewing in my head, my laptop caught a virus and crashed. I was too pissed off to remember the exact site, but I’ll know it if I see it again. On the phone to Internet provider (ATT). They roto-rooter the connection. On to Dell. The tech scopes the problem as best as could be done over the phone. The result, they’re gonna send me a disk to clean and repair my laptop.  I’ve got an appointment for Sunday. I pull out the antique I use for back-up and try to catch up on mail and try for a post. The back-up is glacially slow and skittish. It was no fun. Friday the disk comes. Saturday is passed at the supermarket and screaming at the back-up. Sunday comes and I wait for the appointment. I get hold of the tech and he talks me through the set-up. It’s like having a high tech baby you’ve got to get through K through 12 in a week. Finally at twelve the work is done. The baby graduated. Wrong!!!! You forgot to include the stuff that is necessary but unnoticed. Like tieing your shoes or eating. For the computer these are the readers and applications that we downloaded when the computer was new and we forgot all about them. Adobe Reader, PDF reader, Office 2010, you know the stuff that you need but lurks just under the surface. I still don’t have favorites listed.  Right now the phones don’t work and I’m getting input about what is wrong. I don’t hate phones but I can live without one. On to ATT to troubleshoot that fiasco. I’m tired, reconcidering my last haircut and hoping the next  mod, switching to wireless works.

Didja ever want to take your laptop and see if it aerodynamic? I’ve wondered all weekend. I’m on the second floor and there’s a garden plot next door, why not give it a shot. As slow as the computer is it’ll take eons and a couple of ice ages to break it down.

LOVE YOUR LAPTOP. SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL FOOD BANK. ADOPT A SHELTER PET. SPAY AND NEUTER YOUR LOCAL POLITICIAN. IF YOUR SEE ANY REAL LAME PRODUCTS ON TV TELL ME ABOUT THEM I’M COMPILING A LIST AND POSTING IT AND HEAPING SCORN ON PEOPLE WHO BUY THEM.

See you Wednesday.