I dream. Big deal, everybody dreams. Mine fall into two categories; where I’m lost or I’ve lost my shoes. I say this because I dropped off and had a dream about being lost in Oklahoma. I’ve never been to Oklahoma. I was close once, Witicha Falls, Texas back when I was in the service. Never over the border into Okla. In my dream I was looking for Cedar Falls a town on the border with Texas. Nobody in the dream told me why I was there. I went through dark dining rooms, lakeside trailer parks with white gravel paths and out of a cave that overlooked the bluest river I’ve ever seen. I never reached my goal. I kept wandering. The landscape wasn’t  familiar. The people taciturn. The dream was populated with crowds of people but they all kept to themselves, probably in a dream of their own.  That’s another thing, my dreams are full of strangers. Maybe we’re all dreaming the same dream but play different roles in it. Bit players in my dream are the main character in someone else’s dream. I’ve got to remember to ask one of my extras what’s going on. Maybe I’ll get a story for the ages. As for losing shoes. I’ve never lost a pair. though the shoes in my dream are being substituted with blue suede slip-on sneakers or sandals neither of which I’ve ever owned. I think about ordering a pair of sandals from some of the catalogues I get, but always avoid them by looking at the prices or having flashbacks to my youth with grown men wearing sandals with calf high black socks. Blue suede slip-on sneakers, a way bit outre for me. Though I like the Carl Perkins song. I think these dreams are about my search for a goal. What it is, I haven’t a clue.

It’s official, the A&E channel has to officially change its name to Dog the Bounty Hunter channel. You cancelled the show, now pull the sucker off the air. It was interesting once, but a marathon is waaaay too much. He’s a self righteous ex-biker who found God (don’t they all) who chases miscreants around Hawaii and various environs around the continental U.S. You don’t have to dress in black and wear an ersatz badge to intimidate the bad guys, the mullet will do that. It’s a family affair with his wife,  brother-in-law and son in the family busness. What burns me is they only show the ones they’ve caught. What about the ones who slipped through the three person dragnet? Biography channel should change its name to Anything But Two Biographies A Day Network. They’re hooked on the paranormal. Kids, celebrities the guy at the local Shell station, they’re all there, telling their accounts of run-ins with ghosts and ghoulies. While I’m on it enough with the “Close Calls” shows. We all live close to the edge. We’re one false step away from falling into the abyss on a daily basis, but we don’t notice it. If we dwelled on all the near misses we’d be home under the covers lookig for a biography of George Michael on the Biography Channel only to find Kids Close Calls With The Beast Under The Bed.

Why don’t we see more Terry-Thomas and Peter Sellers movies from the sixties on TV. They’re funnier than the sit coms we put on even if they really stretch credulity.

See you Monday.

TALK TO ME, PLEASE. SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL FOOD BANK, KIDS ARE MISSING BREAKFAST BECAUSE SCHOOL IS OUT. ADOPT A SHELTER PET THEY KNOW THEY’VE BEEN SAVED AND LOVE YOU FOR IT. SPAY OR NEUTER YOUR LOCAL POLITICIANS, USE A HAVE-A-HEART TRAP BAITED WITH UNMARKED BILLS. CHECK OUT A THIRD OR FOURTH PARTY, SOME OF THE IDEAS FROM THE FRINGES MIGHT JUST WORK, THE MAINSTEAM CANDIDATES HAVEN’T DONE ALL THAT WELL SO FAR.