Hi, happy Monday. Had to visit the dentist this morning and have one more appointment to go.

The wedding went great. My niece was lovely and the groom was handsome. The ceremony took place overlooking Long Island Sound. It was gray out and visibility was limited. The JP who did the ceremony talked a lot about commitment, souls entwined and other spiritual things. the thing she forgot to tell the couple was Have fun!. You should take marriage seriously but some marriages I’ve seen go south because there’s no fun. Couples forget what it was like when the spectre of marriage didn’t loom on the horizon. It seems that the pair romp around in the first throes of love and blithely ignore the fact that their actions, if carried out, will lead to a permanent commitment. That’s another problem, marriage is viewed as a permanent situation for, oh about ten seconds. After a year some couples have lawyers on speed dial. Another thing lost is the discovery of the other person in their life. Time was, people saved themselves for marriage. (For you youngsters, they didn’t fuck til after the ceremony.) The courtship is a trial marriage. the couple learn to adapt to another person in their life and all the quirks that come with them. Maybe this is a good idea. Nah, they still get divorced even though they’ve shared a bathroom for nigh on a year. One sidebar, my late sister would’ve dropped a brick. My niece’s husband is Indian. My sister divided the world into herself and them. This could be attributed to an aunt who was super except when Black missionaries came to her door, they were casing the apartment. I hope the couple have a great life. They seem to like each other, that’s a bit more important than love. You’ve got to be able to stand your partner when they crawl into bed with wool socks and flannel PJ’s on. That’s a sign of a good marriage, if the couple can get along during the minutae of life. If they don’t kill each other after a Saturday morning at the supermarket.

My brother-in-law navigated the trip down. He chose a route that wouls avoid I-91 and kept us on Route 9. We cruised until we got to the junction with Rte 1. He didn’t know which way to go. I fought my basic nature to press on, unenlightened, and see what happened. He went against stereotype, he asked for directions. I missed the entrance and spent five fun minutes trying to get out of a parking lot. I got stuck in it on the way out. The drive home went fast. I knew the route and smelled the couch. Once on the scent I would not be deterred.

James Holmes showed up in court with kinda pink hair and a blood red jumpsuit. He looked stoned. He didn’t speak. I don’t think consequences were in the extensive planning for his shooting spree. Personally I think he’s nuts. Not nuts enough to avoid the death penalty, but nuts. The way you’re nuts when you kill twelve people and wound a bunch more.

If I hear Debbie Boone sing You Light Up My Life leading in to whatever she’s shilling, I’m going to snap. The song was overexposed when it came out and bringing it back doesn’t help. I’ve always thought Debbie was kinda cute, being Pat’s daughter and all, but the commercial is a deal breaker.

Song stuck in my head: Ain’t No Particular Way by Shania Twain (remember her, she was hot until she married Mutt Lange and moved to Switzerland) He cheated on her!!! Is he nuts? If I married her it’d take dynamite and a restraining order to get me to stray.

See you on Wednesday.

THANKS FOR COMING, COME AGAIN, BRING A FRIEND. TALK TO ME, FEED MY NEED FOR ATTENTION. SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL FOOD BANK, ADOPT A SHELTER PET. SPAY OR NEUTER YOUR LOCAL POLITICIAN. CONSIDER A THIRD OR FOURTH PARTY IN THE UPCOMING ELECTIONS. SEND “HAPPY RETIREMENT, IT’S ABOUT TIME” CARDS TO RUPERT MURDOCH.