Went to the dentist this morning. I was half asleep. I had to fight that ol’ devil insomnia. Breakfast and the morning news didn’t help. I had to fight the urge to stretch out on the couch and nap for a few minutes. I done that before. I usually wake up at noon and spend a lot of time apologizing and backtracking. The appointment went smoothly and except for one “This might hurt” moment I was proud of myself. Most of the time I anticipate the needle and nearly tear the arms off the chair. I can be such a wuss. The only thing missing was the dentist letting me pick out a toy from the toy box.

I want a food processor. I don’t need one, I want one. To people who don’t cook or never spent time in restaraunt kichens won’t understand, but bear with me. I’ve got knife skills, they were drilled into me during three years of school. I’m just lazy and don’t give a rat’s ass if every bit of diced vegetable is uniform. Thus, the food processor. I spent some time on-line Googling “small kitchen appliances/small/ used” and was sent to my local Goodwill Super Store. They had George Foreman Grills, coffee makers, toasters and everything but a food processor. I went to Target and suffered sticker shock. The top of the line was $79 and the other one was $49. It better do more for that money. I tried Ocean State Job Lots and found they seem to get deliveries from the same place Target does except they had more toasters. Overstock.com seems to believe that I have money to burn or at least send to them. There are still options. Ebay looks good and with the onset of June there’s a lot of junk yard sales. The search goes on.

I’m watching the Mets kick the Cubs ass 17 to 1. I like the Mets and as a rule I enjoy watching them try to do a fair imitation of the Yankees. What I hate is that third wheel announcer who they post in the stands to provide “color” for the game. I don’t care about some guy with a mike in the stands telling me what a great view of the field he has at Wrigley. For Christ’s sake the park was designed before we were seduced into believing that TV is the best way to watch a ball game. A few years back, NBC tried to broadcast a football game without color announcers. It didn’t work. We still have color announcers don’t we. The game’s the thing, not the traffic after the game or a recap of last night’s game. Please shut up. Announce the game, a lot of fans would relish the silence. The commercials are another evil we have to deal with if we don’t want to become Metsheads, following the team around the country.

Got a lesson back today. The instructor liked it and didn’t edit it a lot. Most of the edits were things that I needed to change but were lost in the crannies of my brain. I’ll rewrite and submit. If they buy it great, if not I’ll try again. It’s a bitch finding out that you’re good at something late in life. It pisses me off that I didn’t listen to people who told me I was good and was too lazy to put the work into making it a career.

See you on Friday.

TALK TO ME, SEND ME ANY THIRD PARTIES IN YOUR NEIGHBORHOOD, SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL FOOD BANK AND MOST OF ALL FEED MY SICK NEED FOR ATTENTION, IF YOU CAN, ADOPT A SHELTER PET AND BE NICE TO A CHILD.