Went to the butcher today and picked up Easter dinner. Got a fresh kielbasa. I kinda oded on ham in my youth and still have sensory flashbacks of biting down on the clove that they said they’d removed. The smell of freshly cut meat carries me back to when I did meat cutting duties in kitchens I’ve worked in. I adapted the Zen method of meat cutting. Taking a large piece of meat and cutting it where it wanted to be cut. You don’t get supermarket cuts of meat but to me it seems the right thing to do.

REALITY SHOWS We’ve got to take back entertainment and push the networks into killing off shows like Survivor, Biggest Loser, Amazing Race, The Bachelor and the show that defines the viewers of the genre, Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader. TV already has G2 a network devoted to Family Feud, The Newlywed Game and $100,000 Pyramid. I don’t want television to be Masterpiece Theater 24/7 but lets get the real mundless crap where it can be segregated and the networks have to put writers to work writing scripts instead of sitting around a table coming up with ideas like; Six people have to work together to solve puzzles to salvage $10,000 from a 200 gallon vat of mornay sauce. The danger is we’ll wind up with Petticoat Junction, The Beverly Hillbillies and Green Acres. If we pay writers to produce cogent scripts with believable plots we’ll be entertained. And as a side note; Commercials should be run in the final six minutes of the show. Just like Japan. Back to programming, let shows run at least ten weeks to find an audience. Bring back programming that lasts longer than thirty minutes. We’ve got the attention span of a butterfly and we need to stop being assaulted by machine gun programming. Right now, Thursday seems to be the landing platform for sitcoms. Let all four networks battle it out on one night a week. Survival of the fittest, appeals to Republicans who own the sponsers and keeps the artists in the audience happy by keeping the quality high. TV used to be good. The United States Steel Hour, Armstrong Circle Theater and anthology series held down the ten to eleven spot. Any questions? If it’s real important e-mail me at fredthecat07y@yahoo.com

Two reviews: I had a hard time falling asleep on Monday and Tuesday. I had the tool to help me out, a portable DVD player. So I cranked up two movies I wanted to see but was afraid it’d be a waste of time if I watched them during the day. It’s complicated. The two movies had an underlying love stories and were entertaining. The first was Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. Lisbeth Salender rocks. She’s just what every closeted geek could love, if she didn’t tie him to the bed and tattoo bad things on his torso. The movie is based on a trilogy that pulled me along and when it finally let go, I wanted more. Daniel Craig is there to provide eye candy for the women and he broods and smokes like any self-respecting Norwegian. He’s a disgraced newsman who’s hired to solve a forty year old mystery. Salender has investigated him and they don’t meet until he needs her. The movie has everything violence, forcible sex, cosensual sex, and a plot that you’ve actually pay attention to. there’s brief nudity but it’s not erotic, Rooney Mara IS the private, brilliant hacker and any sex is just there because she wants it. She seduces. The story is wrapped up in the last fifteen minutes and you’ve got to pay attention.

The other movie was J Edgar. The Clint Eastwood directed biopic. Leonardo DiCaprio plays Hoover and I’m sorry for cheering when his frozen corpse sank below the waves in Titanic. The story is Hoover telling his version and the actuality of the circumstance. Yep, Clint had a love scene between Hoover and Clyde Toleson. It’s only one kiss. As to cross-dressing, it’s hit upon but not exploited. Leonardo does a good job of playing J Edgar. He ages well as could be expected because if there was an actor who was a spot-on double for Hoover, he’d have very few jobs. I don’t think J Edgar has stopped spinning since the film was released. Clint Eastwood, steely eyed ideal of the right doesn’t whitewash the subject. He tells thwe story as he sees it. He is a director who puts the story first and keeps his own beliefs out of the picture.

I’ll review some old and obscure CDs and DVDs. They’re ones I picked up because I was curious. Some have been dug out from the bottom of the pile because I was otherwise occupied or they just were something that attracted me. We’ll see what comes up.