Happy Recipe Wednesday. Before we get to the reason we’re here there’s a few things that I thought might be worth mentioning.

I think it’s time that Rome should get used to the fact that all U.S. Catholics are playing by their own rules. They practice birth control, have sex for reasons other than procreation and think the Church should move into the 21st century. Part of it is taking responsibility for crimes that were perpetrated under the cover of the collar of priesthood. Not every priest abused young boys, but those that did should be punished. That’s a given. The Church should try not to be so squemish when the subject comes up. One thing should be brought to a screeching halt; the fact that lawyers for the Church in Missouri have begun to harass a support group for victims of abusive priests. It’s bad enough they were violated by a person they trusted, now they’re being impeded in trying to find closure. Shame on you isn’t strong enough and the belief that punishment will come in an afterlife isn’t good enough. We are human and want tangible proof that the Church that we really want to belong to is capable of healing wounds that criminal members that served it are punished. This is not the first time. During WWII, Rome helped Nazi war criminals escape because of their opposition to Communism. Six million people don’t come close to an entity that may undermine its hold on the people.

A new hero: Rep Walter Jones (R-NC). In the words of Maureen Dowd of the NYT “a rare bird”. Yes, there are Repulicans who think our involvment in Afghanistan isn’t one our best moves. The President has his mind on getting out of “The Graveyard of Empires” but has let two little things we need done. We need to push for the education and involvment of women in government and we’ve got to put a stop to the poppy trade. I know, we see movies that portray drug kingpins as evil but they get money from clandestine sources, namely us. We hoped they’d join the fight against the Taliban. Or, a rosier scenario, after we leave, the government in charge or, God forbid, the Taliban will wipe it out. The Taliban are pragmatic, anything, however remote, that will destroy the infidel will be vioewed with a blind eye.

My cousin Bobbi replied to my blog on red sauce. She reminded me of the annivesary of the death of her father. It’s time I spoke about my parent’s generation particularly on my father’s side. I forget about my father, Uncle Scotty and Aunt Ann as I try to move forward with my life. They were moving through far more perilous straits than my cousins and I navigate. My cousin Bobbi move to study in Italy. My cousin Kathy raised a family that have moved on and become heads of their own families. My uncles, aunt and my father didn’t have the benefit or the conciet of an education. What they had was a desire to improve theur lot in life and provide for their children. They chose the liquor business. I’ve heard stories about their iffy beginnings, none I can confirm or will repeat. They ran businesses that put food on our table and allowed us to have an easier life. As we grew, we might have looked upon them as strict and unable to change. That’s why they suceeded. The singleness of purpose kept them on the path that thay chose. They were loyal to friends. I, for myself, looked at my father as being overly critical and strict. Through the eyes of a teen and young adult that was the view all of my friends had toward our parents. They were teaching us a lesson, how to survive. Life was not designed for our pleasure, it was a place we had to make our mark. Our parents would blanch at some of our beliefs, but with a sound argument they might not subscribe to them but they would tolerate them. They had our best interests at heart, even if we didn’t believe it. And discipline was a way to keep us moving along and served as a guide as to how we would raise children.

Okay, today’s recipe: Pimento Rellenos (Stuffed Peppers)

First, I stole this recipe from my older niece who got it from a boyfriend’s mother. There are modifications I’ll add at the end.

You’ll need:

4 Bell Peppers, seeded and cut in half

1 1/2 Lbs meatloaf mix

1 1/2 C cooked rice.

1/2 C diced onion

1 8 oz can tomato sauce

2 C chicken broth

2 packets Goya Sazon

2t Goya Adodobo seasoning

Salt

Pepper.

1) Blanch and shock pepper halves in salted water

2)Saute onions in 1T oil til translucent, let cool.

3) Combine meat, rice, onions and seasonings

4) Stuff pepper halves loosely put in oven proof pan

5) Add tomato sauce and broth to pan

6) Bake in a 350 degree oven basting occasionally

If you have dietary or religious objections to pork which is usually in meatloaf mix, you can use beef just change beef broth for chicken broth. If you want to use either ground chicken or turkey instead of the Goya seasonings use poultry seasoning and eliminate the tomato sauce and double the broth. For vegetarians, saute squash, onion with a leafy green. Chop by hand or run gently through a food processor baking time will be reduced. No matter what meat you choose make sure it hits at least 185 degrees internal.

One odd last thought, spent a good part of last night channel surfing between the Mets, Sox and Yanks. God bless ADD. About the eighth inning it dawned on me why not try to get one game on the radio. I’m a child of the technology.